Metropolitan Planning Organization for the La Crosse, Wisconsin and La Crescent, Minnesota Area 

 LAPC Home | About the MPO | Plans and Programs | Committees | Agendas and Minutes | Bylaws and Agreements | Contacts

Who is the LAPC?
Map of the Area

About the LAPC

The La Crosse Area Planning Committee (LAPC) has been designated by the governors of Wisconsin and Minnesota as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) to perform transportation planning activities for the La Crosse and La Crescent Area in accordance with Federal regulations.

The La Crosse and La Crescent Metropolitan Planning Area includes the Cities of La Crosse and Onalaska, the Villages of Holmen and West Salem, the Towns of Campbell, Medary, Barre, Holland, Greenfield, Onalaska, Shelby, Hamilton and part of the Town of Bergen in Wisconsin.   In Minnesota the Planning Area includes the City of La Crescent and the Townships of La Crescent and Dresbach.

The main objectives of the LAPC are to develop and maintain a long-range Metropolitan Transportation Plan (25 year planning horizon) for the planning area and a short-range (4 year) Transportation Improvement Program of state and federally-funded and other regionally significant projects.

In September of 2010, the LAPC officially adopted the 2035 La Crosse and La Crescent Metropolitan Area Transportation Plan (MTP). This long-range plan was adopted as a requirement of Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21) enacted in 2012.

Other area-wide programs are conducted as the LAPC deems necessary. The type of research to be undertaken, the type of plans to be prepared, and the method and cost of conducting the programs are determined annually with the preparation of the LAPC Planning Work Program.

There are three standing committees that provide technical advice to the LAPC and assist with specialized planning.  These are the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC), the  Transit Coordinating Council (TCC) and the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC).


 Contact Us  |  Disclaimer  | 

La Crosse Area Planning Committee
400 North Fourth Street
La Crosse, Wisconsin  54601
Tom Faella, Executive Director
(608) 785-5977

All information and content on this website Copyright by the La Crosse Area Planning Committee.